PDA

View Full Version : TDi Engine hose blows off at 3000rpm!

DaveJB
01-04-2007, 05:26 PM
Hi, first post so please be kind!

51 plate Passat 1.9 TDi (130hp) 123k miles

driving home last night and the engine made a couple of weird sucking noises at about 2250 rpm (turbo just coming in) and then went dead - no power and no turbo noise, limped home (luckily only a couple of miles or so)

looked at it this morning and the large (2.5" diameter) s-shaped hose running from the top right of the engine (just in front of the coolant tank) was disconnected at the lower end (front right of the engine)

reconnected and started her up and all seemed ok but then when revved the engine the hose popped off again - seems to do this everytime at about 3000rpm and kicks out black smoke when it does it!

Im no mechanic so its off to the garage in the morning but i was interested to know exactly what the hose was so I can tell the garage and also check that it will be ok for me to drive it with the hose disconected (if it comes off again) any guess at the cause?

I'd appreciate any help or suggestions
cheers
Dave

devonutopia
01-04-2007, 06:08 PM
It will be OK to drive it in limp mode - that's what it's their for, and can be "limp to garage" mode if need be. :)

Might need a modified clip. None of my pipework is standard, so I use marine grade clips, rated to 8 bar.

Carps
01-04-2007, 06:37 PM
It will be OK to drive it in limp mode - that's what it's their for, and can be "limp to garage" mode if need be. :)

Might need a modified clip. None of my pipework is standard, so I use marine grade clips, rated to 8 bar.

Fitting a stronger clip might work, but surely the answer here is to find out what is causing the pipe to pop ! This is not a common problem, so there must be something going on to cause the problem, and strapping it up with a stronger clip may not be the right answer in this case...

DaveJB
01-04-2007, 06:37 PM
ooh! non standard pipework! :biglaugh: