PDA

View Full Version : Help understanding injector timing data

Zeus
13-05-2009, 08:52 AM
My friend has a 2001 TDi (115BHP AUY engine) that is rattles at tick over but fine when driving, it returns good MPG and it doesn't use any fluids.

I put it on VAG.COM and discovered the start of inj. is 6.1 BTDC at idle and it should be within 1 BTDC to 2 ATDC, as you rev the engine up it backs of to about 9 BTDC. I have the same engine is a 2002 Galaxy that is running fine, that idles at 0.8 ATDC and backs of to about 9 BTDC when reved up.

Sounds to me like the injector timing on the belt is out but I am no expert, what do you guys think.........

Oh and if I could be cheeky and ask 1 other thing. His specified and actual MAF readings are both about 250 at idle but my actual is way up at about 490, I haven't noticed a problems with performance but is my MAF about to give up on me?

Thanks you very much for reading and hopefully replying.

Anthony Bigwood
01-07-2009, 12:46 AM
Hi. Im afraid I dont have the answer but do appear to have the same problem on a 2000 1.9 TDI Sharan 110 Sport AUY Engine. At idle (903RPM) the car shakes and lacks power when driving. Its as though the engine is running on 3 cylinders. VagCom is showing almost the same readings as you Injection start at around 5 degrees BTDC as well as MAF readings in excess of tollerances. I too am thinking injection timing but am uncertain how to adjust (not like T4 ACV injection pump with its own timing belt which would not even start if there was a couple of degrees error but was easily adjustable with the help of VagCom) I am thinking I need to go through a cambelt set up as this is the only way I can see to alter the timing.
Any comments gladly recd.
Tony

saabsalltheway!
01-07-2009, 09:25 PM
hi
how about doing a full scan and posting it on here.
is this the PD engine if so check the wireing to the injectors
as the car had any work done on it