PDA

View Full Version : Please Help Which remap/chip to use on my GOLF MK5 GTI DSG 2008 and is BLUEFIN any good ?

shaft-50
04-05-2009, 06:46 PM
Hello again..

:1zhelp:

Getting a bit stressed over this subject as I have never done owt like this before and am always afraid of messing about with the operating mechanics on my cars in case I bodge/f-it up and/or void my cars warranty.

Basically have been looking on here and am thinking of remapping my car (I have a new Golf MK5 GTI DSG 2008/58 plate car).

There seem to be loads of products out there with varying prices!!

Bluefin is one that has been recommended by a friend and although it is a bit pricey it seems to have good feedback from those who have used it.

What I want to ask is, firstly what is Bluefin, is it a remap or chip and what is the difference between a remap and a chip, if any ?

Secondly is the Blufin a good product and is it recommended ?

Finally (I think), if and when I get it done, would I have to alter/change anything on my car to compensate for the increase in bhp/torque, i.e. suspension/exhaust etc because dont want to f-up my car over a remap/chip ?

Thank you in advance :)

PS. I would also appreciate a rough idea on the cheapest price I can expect to pay for a Bluefin.

Vapor
04-05-2009, 06:59 PM
T,
You should be fine with all the GTi's stock gear,
Maybe the brakes will take a big beating though :D hehe,
Your looking generally in the range of around £435 for the bluefin device,

Bluefin is a remap not a tuning box, www.mybluefin.co.uk
basically you backup your old map (the one thats flashed now)
incase you need to revert back to it,
also you can have a map custom made to suit your driving needs, you do this by emailing the company your current map and there'll give you a choice matey,

then simply plug it in and upload the new map from the bluefin device to your car's ECU and your away, as simple as that.

There a great product hence the price :D