PDA

View Full Version : Important Power Loss / Turbo loss on VW Passat 1.9TDI

mubsy812001
08-04-2009, 01:19 PM
I am pulling my hair out here with my problem!

I have a VW Passat 2001 1.9 TDI SE 130BHP. My car simply does not have any power. The turbo simply does not kick in and when going up a hill the car drags! when on the motorway even the slight steep hill then even micra's are overtaking me.

In any gear my car just simply picks up very very slowly.

The Turbo kicks in once in a while (like once every 20/30 drives!) for about 2 seconds and then back to normal power loss again!

Reading some of the forums on here I changed the MAF and has still not made any difference.

I am a total novice with cars, I can do the small jobs but I can't get too technical and to be totally honest I need to do this job myself as I am struggling with money (Credit Crunch!).

Can someone tell me what is wrong with my car? also give me a step by step problem resolution, not just simply your x pipe is blocked, I need to know where the pipe is located (Pictures will be good) and show me how i can rectify the problem.

I need to sort this out and do it on my own so please please please can someone help me out on this one.

Thanks

Crasher
08-04-2009, 01:31 PM
You need to get the car fault code read before you waste any more money replacing parts that are not faulty. Where did the Air Mass Meter (AMM) come from? Presumably because you are short of money you did not buy one genuine, how much did it cost?

martin1810
08-04-2009, 02:52 PM
If you say where you are in the country someone might offer to give you a code read for a few beers. Then you will have somewhere to start looking.

mubsy812001
08-04-2009, 03:07 PM
I got it from local parts shop, cost me £35 and the parts shop chap showed me how to replace it.

Crasher
08-04-2009, 03:56 PM