PDA

View Full Version : Please Help Coolant warning

RichKi
05-04-2009, 04:05 PM
Hi,

I'm a bit of a newbie on here despite registering some time ago and I'm looking for some help.

My 04 plate A3 keeps flashing up a "Coolant Warning" on the dash, switching the engine temperature gauge off and putting the fans on in the engine bay. I've checked the rods in the coolant reservoir and the connecting cable and they all seem fine (see pic)

http://www.vwaudiforum.co.uk/forum/picture.php?albumid=340&pictureid=1165

Can anyone help?

Thanks

RichKi
05-04-2009, 04:07 PM
I ought to add that the coolant levels are right between the lines on the reserviour bottle, so I don't think that's the problem. :confused:

harry k
05-04-2009, 08:04 PM
I have the same problem with my s3 2000 plate. It only does it when very cold weather though. The car was in Bristol audi last week and even they could'nt shed any light on the problem!:confused: Sorry just read your post properly, mine dos'nt switch the fans on its just the warning light on mine. Goes off as soon as you pull away.

ed'sA3-1.8THK
06-04-2009, 08:08 AM
the instrument cluster controller chip is becoming corrupted - possibly due to cracked/embrittled solder connections on cluster printed circuit board

possibly due to same soldering problem @ green and purple connector header pins on cluster pcb

possibly due to surface corrosion on header pins and green and purple main connector shells (female)

cold weather conditions worsen as cracks open up, however problem(s) will not simply go away - you may try removing cluster and carefully applying contact cleaner/lubricant spray (only a small amount!)

however your cluster pcb + controller chip corruption (stored random errors) will ultimately req replacement of cluster - resoldering really does not work and may completely short out your cluster

immo in ecu communicates w/cluster controllor chip and one day immo locks your car and will not enable ignition function