PDA

View Full Version : Radiator fan starts when reading instruments with VAG Commander

JontyVW
01-03-2009, 06:38 PM
:1zhelp: :confused: :1zhelp:

Hi All!

This is my first post on the forum although I have been visiting the forum for a few months now and enjoying the great info etc.

I have a 2002 MK4 Golf 1.8 GTi T. It has fairly low milage (48,500) and has been enjoyable to own for the past 8 months or so.

I have recently been looking into a lot of the diagnostics and programing that can be done on these type of cars and I became quite curious and interested by it all.

Anyway, sorry for prattling on there!

I have connected my car to a friends laptop and VAG Commander 2.5 software in the hope of being able to read my SKC or pin code whatever you want to call it from the instrument cluster. I have tried twice now and bot attempts have had the same outcome - After only a few seconds of reading the instruments the radiator fan kicks in and continues to run and the screen on the laptop says it is reading address 0358.

The first time this happened I thought it was normal and left the laptop and cable connected. The car's battery eventually drained completely and I was no closer to getting the skc. When I recharged the battery I was surprised to find that the car wouldn't start! It would fire up but then immediately die. It reminded me of how an immobiliser inhibits the starting which I later found out was the case. After reading a tip on the internet I removed the clocks from the car overnight and re-installed them the next day and to my delight the car started! Thank God!

I left the car alone for a few weeks but then got curious again and started thinking maybe I had chosen the wrong cluster model in the VAG Commander options or something so I decided to have another go!

The exact same thing happened again, the only difference being that I never let the battery go flat this time and I know that I definitely chose the correct cluster type - RB8.