PDA

View Full Version : Car choice opinions

SBL
09-01-2009, 09:52 PM
Hello all, hoping to get some opinions on car choice here.
I need to order a new company car and have settled on the new A4 (obvious given where I'm posting really ;))
I love the looks of the S line but it's stretching things a little for me so have settled on the SE trim but found the 143TDi a little on the weak side.
Choice is between the 170TDi or the 2.0TFSI. I've been driving diesels for some years now so naturally drawn to them but the performance on the TFSI looks amazing. I'm a swift driver but not a boy racer type so don't want to have the neddle bouncing off the limiter to make decent headway. As you people are all well versed in the Audi cars I'd really like to know,,,,,,,What would you buy in this situation??

onemanparty
09-01-2009, 10:39 PM
Both good engines. Question is what mileage do you do more than 20K per annum then diesel is your best bet, But the 2.0TFSI would not be far behind due to the cost difference between Petrol & Diesel at present.

For me if you can have the 2.0TFSI I would have that. I'm sure others will agree or disagree with me.

kodkod.84
09-01-2009, 10:57 PM
Petrol if you are not doing crazy motorway miles for sure.

Had mine for 6 months now and loving it- drove the Mrs Golf 2.0TDI the other day and it felt quite unsettling and uncomfy as the power comes at ya in big lumps rather than smoothly like in the petrol.

Saying that, the common rail in the B8 might be different but haven't driven diesel B8 yet, had a loan 1.8T and that was sweet though.

SBL
09-01-2009, 10:59 PM
Thanks for the reply.
Mileage should be around 27K a year but that isn't really an issue on costs for me. I can only use the Audi stated comined mpg but there is only around £25 a month difference and that's in the total purchase and running costs combined.

Is the TFSI known to get good mpg results? 43mpg seems high to me, is it realistic?

SBL
09-01-2009, 11:04 PM