PDA

View Full Version : How To Cambelt Change '93 tdi

wells01
08-01-2009, 06:02 PM
Hi
I'm new to this forum. I have just purchased a 1993 Audi 80 tdi automatic. It seems to run very well, its smooth, quiet and feels very solid.
Its odometer is showing 126000 miles so I thought to be safe I should change the timing belt. I have changed belts on other cars in the past so I am not a complete novice. As there is no Haynes manual for this model I was wondering is the procedure recorded anywhere on this forum? Also does anyone have any thoughts on what oil I should use?
Many thanks for your advice.
Regards
Wells01

zollaf
08-01-2009, 06:12 PM
hi, your 1z engine is covered in other haynes manuals, such as the audi 100, or early A4. the belt change is fairly easy and shouldnt pose too many problems for you. hope this helps.

wells01
08-01-2009, 06:47 PM
Many thanks for such a speedy reply
I didnt know it was a common engine.
Regards
wells01

zollaf
08-01-2009, 07:03 PM