PDA

View Full Version : over boost at speed.

tdi142
02-01-2009, 09:19 PM
Hi again guys. After having my pd 110 remapped too 142 i had problems with powerloss at full revs.The car went back and was mapped again and is fine now unless pushed at the top end which has come down since re mapping. I have just had a clutch conversion done to remove the dual mass flywheel and the guy who did the work (superbly should i say) Gave me an error code of 17965 from the diagnostics. I have told the performance centre about this but they say that it is the turbo.Surely if it was the turbo it would do this when revved out in every gear? I am no expert though . Has anybody encountered this problem before ? I am quite mechanically minded and do a mechanical job. If it is the turbo would you recommend that i strip and clean / replace myself?:1zhelp:

Yelloperil
04-01-2009, 02:49 AM
the powerloss you had before it went back - can you describe them?

did it feel like it was misfiring and kinda buking? - struggling for fuel? - only asking as mine does this but i'm not sure of the problem as i've only just bought it.

ini
04-01-2009, 04:05 PM
The fault code indicates that you were 'overboosting', boost control - positive deviation.

This could stem from any of the normal vac leak, N75, sticky vnt issues, but is more likely to be from simply being remapped a bit aggressively on the top end (too much fuel/boost, or MAP not calibrated etc)

Extra fuel is added in higher gears/speed/load to allow for increased air resistance, so the problem will most likely not occur in lower gears.

It could be that the turbo needs cleaning, but i would try a simple, correctly attached 'boost valve' to alleviate the boost spike that may be the cause of your limp mode.

tdi142
09-01-2009, 05:24 PM