PDA

View Full Version : A3 excessive disc wear

Fazer
22-02-2007, 05:32 PM
My 1st A3, 03 reg, 1.8 had the front discs and pads replaced three times in 3 years that I owned it. My annual mileage was 10-12k pa. This was not accepted under warranty and it turned pretty expensive.

my 2nd A3 1.8 06 reg just over one year and done 12k will now require new discs and pads. I don't believe how unlucky I feel. Is this right?? i'm an average driver, I don't race or brake hard. Anybody else had this problem? Fazer.

S2AVANT
23-02-2007, 01:27 PM
Our A3 Tdi has done 30k without any new discs on the front and one set on the rear.

Froggy
23-02-2007, 03:09 PM
I did over 50K in my old S3 including some fairly hard motoway/autobahn stuff and never had the discs changed.

Have done 54K in the A4 and still on original disks as well.

You don't leave the car unused for long periods? If they are being replaced for wearing out it sounds a bit odd, you or another driver drive with a foot hovering on the brakes. (not wishing to state the obvious or insult anyone)

If they are warped then I would have thought it was a warranty issue?

Fazer
23-02-2007, 05:36 PM
I did over 50K in my old S3 including some fairly hard motoway/autobahn stuff and never had the discs changed.

Have done 54K in the A4 and still on original disks as well.

You don't leave the car unused for long periods? If they are being replaced for wearing out it sounds a bit odd, you or another driver drive with a foot hovering on the brakes. (not wishing to state the obvious or insult anyone)

If they are warped then I would have thought it was a warranty issue?