PDA

View Full Version : Audi Concert Volume problems!!

bungle
22-02-2007, 04:51 PM
Hi,

I have become a victim of the dreaded volume control issue with my '99 Audi Concert head unit.

I have read many forums and understand that this is a common fault due to some memory volume control chip.....la la la...!

It can be fixed for between £80-£100 but there is no guarantee that it wont happen again.

What I wanted to know is if there were any suggestions from anyone for a direct replacement head unit that would be a simple plug and play option. (I am not that technical and dont want to pay a fortune to get it fitted)

I want a decent brand i.e Alpine, Pioneer, Sony, Bose .....whatever, that looks good (prefferably with blue backlight) and will still allow me to use the existing 6 CD changer.

It doesn't need to be too flash, just similarily powerful to the existing Concert and maybe around the £150-£200 mark.

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks,

Rob

descarl
22-02-2007, 06:13 PM
Hi Rob

Do a search for "Concert Volume" and read the thread titled "....Volume suddenly very Loud" or something like that anyway. There are details of a company that can fix this issue with a chip replacement and software upgrade. From reading the thread they reckon the fix is permanent as the problem seems to be software dependant and they upgrade the problematic code.

For head unit replacement it's a case of an adapter cable and filler pieces for each side of the radio.

Hope this helps and welcome from a fellow newbie :biglaugh:

Carl

Froggy
23-02-2007, 03:01 PM
Repair details here: http://www.vwaudiforum.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=1842

As descarl said replacement involves a couple of adapter leads and a facia adapter, and you must ensure that the replacement unit has a pre-amp output to run your rear speakers.

karachi_kops
09-08-2007, 02:28 PM
Hi Froggy