PDA

View Full Version : Audi Avant - blue smoke is it terminal?

audy
13-02-2007, 03:45 PM
hi all!
i'm new to this so please bear with me. i'll jump straight in with my prob, i've just bought a 2001 1.9tdi engine code ajm automatic with 132k on the clock, full audi history up untill 20k ago, then the guys m8 serviced it, i've replaced the belt kit with original audi parts and put a new head cover on, and done allthe filters and oil again all genuin parts, the problem i have is there appears to be blue smoke especially on start-up coming from the exhaust and when i remove the head cover breather pipe it's puffing out a fair amount , i'm not a mechanic but i know thats not right, i just wondered if anyone could give me some advise, it'd be much appreciated, i mean do these engine suffer with any known weaknesses , or are there any peculiarities with these particular engines? sorry to waffle on. i live in sm3 by the way.:confused::confused::confused: doh! i think i've posted this in the wrong area . appologies

Sam
13-02-2007, 05:38 PM
Welcome aboard!

Please let me know which vehicle this is about and I'll move it to the correct section

audy
13-02-2007, 06:41 PM
hi all
i do apologise, 1st time and all that.:Blush2: :Blush2: but it won't let me paste nor remove, anyway it's a audi avant, if you can move this to the right area , i'd be muchly appreciated.daz

VanWheeler
13-02-2007, 07:27 PM
Normally means your burning oil.

Sam
14-02-2007, 10:24 AM
hi all
i do apologise, 1st time and all that.:Blush2: :Blush2: but it won't let me paste nor remove, anyway it's a audi avant, if you can move this to the right area , i'd be muchly appreciated.daz

Moved to the A4 section, if it's an A6, then let me know.

audy
14-02-2007, 10:30 AM
it is an a4 , and it's a tiptronic auto 5s .thanx sam!:o

onzarob
14-02-2007, 11:15 AM