PDA

View Full Version : Oil Change??

bikersrule
13-09-2008, 08:19 PM
Hello Everybody

I am a newbie to this forum.
I have just bought a Audi A3 S Line 170 diesel and love it to bits.
I t as replaced an Honda Civic Type-R and whilst I miss my Honda, so far I am well pleased with the Audi.
The car as done 12,500 and is 16 months old and I was suprised it had not had a service.
An Audi dealer told me it was on a long life service interval therefore it did not need anything. It looks like the car will be due for a service circa 18,000/19,000 miles.
My dilemma is whether to have the oil changed before the service.
My local Audi dealer said there is no point!!
So the question is what would you do??
Any tips or advice would be much appreciated.

les.howarth@fireflyuk.net

Regards
Les

Ps. Excellent forum btw.

Crasher
13-09-2008, 08:24 PM
Change the oil twice as often as Audi recommend but still use the Quantum Longlife III oil or the Audi dealer may recommend a different Longlife oil such as Castrol, either are fine.

bikersrule
13-09-2008, 09:02 PM
Crasher

Many thanks for the advice. I was sort of half expecting a similar answer.
Thanks also for suggesting the oil you did.
Thats it settled then, it will be getting an oil change.

Regards
Bikersrule

mluton
13-09-2008, 09:40 PM
My 2p's worth

If you change the oil on your variable service car, before the car tells you. Your car will not tell you correctly the time to service your car when required as theere is a sensor to check the viscocity of the Oil IIRC.

Also as the car is under 3 years old this could void your warranty as it has not been kept to schedule.

I changed from varible to fixed once my car was out of warranty.

Crasher
14-09-2008, 12:37 AM
Sorry mluton but I completely disagree with that.