PDA

View Full Version : audi 80 ball joint replacement

rockbadger69
20-01-2007, 05:16 PM
Hi, hope somebody can help. i have a 1991 2.0l audi 80. Its got a squeak from the front right wheel and a knock has just started as well. This i presume is a broken/worn ball joint. Ive taken the car to a local garage before and they were pretty honest so im going to take it there again. However, it would be nice to have a go at it myself, therefore is it possible to do it myself on the street (dont have a garage)? how much should the parts cost? Is it simple, will there be other things to fix? Am i better taking it to the garage. If i take it to the garage what should i expect to pay? how long should it take them to fix it?

Finally, i cant get it in the garage till next saturday im an electrician and i need the car for work which about 5 miles away, will driving it do even more damage and is it dangerous?

cheers all, if anybody can help it would be most appreciated?

jp_paul
23-01-2007, 06:47 PM
Welcome to VWAudiforum!

There's a very simple way to check to see whats worn. Jack up the offending wheel and rock the wheel firmly. Hands at 3 and 9 o clock to check for worn track rod ends. Hands at 12 and 6 o clock to check for balljoint play. If there is play and it stops when the footbrake is pressed, the wheel bearings are worn, not the ball joint. If there is a worrying amount of play in the ball joint, dont drive it anymore cause it wont be pretty if it gives way.