PDA

View Full Version : Surging/Hesitation at Partial Throttle (TDi)

Chris_J
22-07-2008, 01:22 PM
Hi everyone.

I've just recently purchased a VW Golf 1.9 GT TDi 115 (AJM) second hand with 112K miles on the clock. The engine runs really sweetly and I am totally chuffed with the car. I've never owned a TDi (or any diesel for that matter), so I'm completely new to the game. Before the Golf, I was an avid VW Polo fan, and I've just sold my beloved supercharged G40!

I'm enjoying the Golf, as it feels much more solid and is an absolute dream to drive, but I have one relatively minor niggle which I've just noticed, that I need to get sorted.

The problem occurs in any gear, but is more obvious in the lower gears. Basically, at a specific throttle position, the car will sort of hesitate or surge as if I was gently increasing and decreasing the throttle position, at a frequency of about once a second.

With the window wound down, I can hear the turbo spool up and down when the problem is happening. It will only do it in a certain throttle position, which is at about 1/8th.

After a bit of experimenting, there are two ways in which you can stop it. Either slighly increase the throttle and the turbo will spool up fully and pull away as normal, or you can let it do its thing, then after about 5 seconds it stops the hesitation.

There are no other problems I can detect, i.e the turbo pulls very strong throughout the rev range, in an gear. It's almost like the turbo isn't sure whether it should spool up when I feather on the throttle!

I've just got hold of a VAG-COM, which I'm going to look at tonight and I've just done a full service, which included air filter and fuel filter, but the surging still remains. As I mention, these engines are completly new to me, so I'm hoping someone can shed a bit of light and give me some clues as to where I should start investigating.

Thanks in advance guys.
Chris.

adzul
22-07-2008, 08:30 PM