PDA

View Full Version : Please Help glow plug problem!

micol
03-07-2008, 03:39 PM
Hi Guys, Newbie here who knows nothing about mechanics/electrics but desperately needs some help. Sorry in advance for the huge post (please read though!!)...

I've had a problem with my Transporter van for a while now. Sometimes months without a hitch but lately it's been driving me mad!

It all started about a year or so ago when the glow plug light came on whilst driving. This caused the accelerator to stop working and for me to coast to a halt. I could get the van fired up but nothing from the accelerator! I had a recovery lorry take the van back home and as soon as the van was taken off the recovery truck i tried the ignition and "hey presto" it started working!

It would then work fine for months and months until one day the same thing would happen. I then discovered that if i held the accelerator pedal down when turning the ignition, it would work but as soon as i slowed down the light would come on and the accelerator would fail. So i had to do this all the way home until suddenly it kicked into life again!

My garage found a fault with his computer plugged in and changed the accelerator pedal. All was fine again for a few more months until, guess what? Same thing again. This time i was driving down the motorway when suddenly it cut out! I had to turn off the ignition while coasting at about 60mph then back on again and it would spring back to life! this went on for about 30mins down the motorway until it sorted itself out.

The garage said "havent got a clue" I need to see it when it is playing up". Easier said that done. It always behaves in a garage.