PDA

View Full Version : Advice for changing the maf 1.9tdi

jalz
29-06-2008, 09:49 PM
Hello Guys,

Im a total newbie, so please bear with me. My car has experienced loss of power (I seem to get it back when I turn the ignition on and off). I did quite a lot of searching on the forum of similar problems and I've come to the conclusion that changing the maf is the first port of call, so I've ordered a new part from Audi, invoice says part no. A038 906 461 C for 56.50.

Anyway, cut to the chase, I want to attempt to fit it myself (I dont know much about cars, but I can certainly follow instructions). Looking under the bonnet, it seems as though there is a ring on the left hand side that secures it to some hose (A), and then on the right hand side you have two philips screws into a box(B).

Is it a simple case of removing these items and replacing the maf...and then reapplying these items, or are there washers etc attached to the hose that I should be worried about?

Secondly, Ive had a look at the ring (A)...how on earth do you get it off...im worries if I apply too much force,I'll damage it.

Sorry to ask these questions, but like I said im a total newbie that wants to learn - if you dont aske you'llver know!

Thanks to all that respond.

Jalz

Singlespeed
30-06-2008, 02:54 PM
The MAF sensor can be removed from the housing without disturbing 'A' or 'B'. Have a look here - How to replace the MAF (http://www.vwaudiforum.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=6571)

Hope that helps,
Neil.

jalz
30-06-2008, 03:15 PM
Thanks Single speed, is it really that easy?:biglaugh:

Once I undo the maf as suggested from the how to article, do I need to worry about cleaning the inside of the plastic in case its filthy with oil or something?

I was running my car last year with more oil than I should have had....

Thank you all...this is great if it works!

Singlespeed
30-06-2008, 03:33 PM