PDA

View Full Version : Checking an A4 before purchase.

mike v
25-05-2008, 11:46 PM
Hi guys,

Over the course of the next week I will be going to look at a few Audi A4's.
I am new to the world of Audi and this will be my first.

I wondered if anyone can give me anything specific to look for when viewing them. Any tips/advice would be greatly received.

Regards Mike.

p.s. if this is in the wrong place I appologise, theres so many sections on this forum I didnt know where to post!

Turbokiisseli
26-05-2008, 10:33 AM
It depends alot on which engine and model you're looking at, but here are a few general tips:
- front suspension
- cambelt
- coolant, should be red or purple G12 or G13
- service history
- if it's an automatic check if the oil and filter have been serviced. Don't buy an automatic that's acting up when shifting or slipping because they're very expensive to repair!
- If it's a B5, check that the lower door blades are intact and that there's no rust under them
- power steering leaks are usually expensive to repair as well
- all electrics

paul b
26-05-2008, 06:59 PM
If it's a Multitronic auto, walk away, find a Tiptronic or something.

Otherwise just ensure interior electrical systems work, including the air-con.

Paul

mike v
27-05-2008, 08:28 PM
Thanks for the comments replies guys.

I have around 9k to spend so I am looking at the 2nd generation b6 model. I did find one b7 within my price range but it had 100k on it. Was an ex-Royal bank of Scotland company car. Great colour metalic grey. Just a shame about the mileage. I want to cherish my car so looking for something with 60k or less.

The search continues!

StuPDi
27-05-2008, 09:07 PM
shop around and go with "gut feeling"

there should be lots to choose from for £9k

Good luck, post up some piccies when you get your new motor :)

Stu

mike v
28-05-2008, 11:37 PM
Your right stupid,