PDA

View Full Version : quattro??

karina
24-05-2008, 09:23 AM
hi all :1zhelp:

just a quick one...

i have now got an audi a3 1.8t quattro 1999 v reg

i am new to audi so my knowledge is miniscule!!

i was wondering, i know it's 4wd but is it permanent 4wd or on a switch or does it kick in at certain time???

i know this is probably an easy one for you...apologies

karinaxx

and32
24-05-2008, 01:39 PM
I think quattro is permanent 4 wheel drive however i am also new to audi. I wonder if u could help me i have an a3 1.8 t sport and was wondering about the oil light i dont seem to have one. when you turn the ignition on is there an oil light that comes on and when u start the engine does it go out. The only thing i have is when you turn the ignition on the computer in the middle says ok in big yellow letters

kite
24-05-2008, 02:39 PM
The A3 is Haldex 4WD, it transfers drive to the rear wheels when slip is detected on the front wheels.
In other words not "proper" quattro !

S3 beast
27-05-2008, 07:47 PM
i have a s3 quattro and the guy i bought it from said he had the haldex unit changed/converted so instead of the normal 95/5 ratio front wheel drive, mine is now 50/50, equal split front n back.
i have receipts from awesome gti for a haldex upgrade for £500, im told the difference completely changes the feel of the car on corners, i haven't driven one without this change but i do kno that my s3 is unbelievable round the twisties, maybe im biased coz its mine but honestly, WOW!

kite
27-05-2008, 08:50 PM
i have a s3 quattro and the guy i bought it from said he had the haldex unit changed/converted so instead of the normal 95/5 ratio front wheel drive, mine is now 50/50, equal split front n back.