PDA

View Full Version : what IS vag com??

Jen
01-01-2007, 02:16 PM
I'm going to show my dumbness here, but I just bought my first Audi a couple of days ago- a 1999 1.6 A3- and am trying to sort out an annoying problem with loud beeping. All I can figure out is I need to find out from VAG com what the problem is, but what is it, and where is it, and how does it work- is it in the engine or do I have to hook up to something?!?!?!:confused:

lchris21
01-01-2007, 02:50 PM
Hi Jen,
I was like you a few weeks ago.
VAGCOM.......................................... wass all that about !!!!!

Now I'm a bit more clued up on it.

I'm no expert, but in basic terms, its a system of software & cables which allows plugging your laptop / computer into your car, so the car can tell you whats wrong with it !

It is ideal in situations you find yourself in now. Saves you money, by not having to shell out for a main ******* to do the same. Modern cars are loaded with gadgets & gizmos, any one of which failing can cause your car to throw a wobbly.

I'm waiting for my cable to arrive, and will be giving it a try shortly.

Do a search on here, and on the www, and you should end up on this website:
http://www.ross-tech.com/

stuart
01-01-2007, 05:05 PM
Very useful tool, have used it myself, to read fault codes etc, but PLEASE be careful! you can cause a lot of damage if you start messing with areas you are unsure about. I belive it has two sections, basic (safe) for the novice, and advanced - enter with care.

Jen
02-01-2007, 11:48 AM
Scary!
OK thanks guys if I do approach it, it will be with care!
lchris I have looked at the link you sent, but didn't I read on here somewhere that the Ross-Tech cable isn't the 'proper' one? I'm sure I read someone saying that they had one from Ebay that only read certain things or in a certain way or something, can't remember if it was the Ross-Tech one they were talking about. Plus it's in dollars, is there somewhere British you can get a cable from?