PDA

View Full Version : Golf MK4 alloy wheel size?

leemasiuk
13-12-2006, 10:45 PM
Hi,

I'm new to golfs and have had my car for a few weeks. I am keen on finding some nice looking and well suited alloy wheels, but i'm not sure what size to go for.

Some people say 18", but other say you can go as big as 20"?

What size wheels suit the Mk4 best? Also any links to where i can buy decent alloys from would be a great help.

Thanks

steveh2507
31-12-2006, 03:57 PM
Hi,
A few months back i damaged my vw alloys and bought a set of audi rs4's from www.wheel-base.co.uk (http://www.wheel-base.co.uk). They are a 225/40/18. The 18" look massive on the car so I wouldn't recommend anything bigger. But the car does sit about an inch higher than it did, nothing a new suspension kit won't solve. They look pretty good though and for four, with tyres (toyo proxes t1-s), balanced and delivered they only cost £450. I'd check out their website for a look and if you want more info, give them a call, they were very good and delivered them pretty fast.
steve

Eshrules
01-01-2007, 06:47 PM
hi,

re the '20 " ' claim, i really wouldnt advise this, unless your intending to overhaul the springs and dampeners, you would have to remove your arch linings and even perhaps roll the arches to fit this kind of size tyre. 18" look well suited to a mk4 golf, id say anything bigger without the body mods to follow, would look stupid and adversely affect your handling. also, you need to take into consideration the increased tyre wear you will have as a result, the car will be slightly slower and will not take turns as tightly as it would with standard rims. rs4s seem to be the 'in' rim at the moment, but seem to be becoming all too common, id go for a nice one off or a chrome or shadow effect wheel, depends on the colour of your car and personal preference! as has been mentioned, for a decent set of rims your looking at anything from £350 upwards.

me_123
01-01-2007, 07:09 PM
hi,