PDA

View Full Version : Indicator switch clicking... ALL... THE... TIME...

barnabyr
15-04-2008, 09:45 AM
Hi,
I have a 2000 Passat 1.9 TDi.
The indicator is making an erratic clicking noise (without the lights flashing) and I see from other posts that other indicator problems are often down to the relay in the hazard switch.

With mine though, it seems to be affected by the position of the steering wheel.
If I am going dead straight it doesn't come on but if I am even slightly off from straight, it clicks rapidly all the time.
Will this still be down to the hazard switch or could there be a problem in the steering column?
Please be gentle, I am not a mechanic!
Thanks,
Barnaby

hotrod09
15-04-2008, 12:55 PM
From what you are describing it sounds similar to a fault my Passat had ages ago. Got it sorted under warranty then on my 2000 model. They replaced the indicator stalk. Ever since I have a random rattle under the dash - quality *********** what more can I say...
Check if wiggling the stalk brings it on while the wheel is straight. If so I would try a new stalk. Hope this helps

Dacabbie
15-04-2008, 01:37 PM
Hiya Barnaby
It sounds like the indicator stalk needs to be replaced, unfortunately it comes complete with a yolk that is attached which will require removing the steering wheel. (a job for a competent mechanic) As the Air bag has to be de activated.
Approx 2 hours labour + £40 approx for parts.
It is a comon fault as I have had my third in 3 years.
Good Luck

sergiup
16-04-2008, 10:48 AM
Just to strengthen others' opinions, it's most likely the indicator stalk - had it die on my parents' B5.5, and 'cos I didn't know any better, I even bought a new relay; needless to say, that didn't fix it, but a new stalk did.

markgreen
07-03-2010, 01:36 PM
see this thread - jcarncross (http://www.vwaudiforum.co.uk/forum/member.php?u=30787) has found the root of this problem.

http://www.vwaudiforum.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=24058&highlight=gook