PDA

View Full Version : Morning!

anthonyendsor
15-04-2008, 08:44 AM
Hi,

I am an engineer working in a variety of fields for a large well known West Midlands company having previously worked in Civil Engineering for a few years. I am sure however you are far more interested in the cars! My first car was a H reg VW Polo Coupe 1.3 CL which had unfortunately suffered having had an owner count into the teens and had many problems. Despite that it was very sweet running thing driving through a tight 5-speed box and was infinitely better than many of my friends cars! It was all too tempting to spend money on it but common sense prevailed. By the time I took my test I had bought a brand new Rover 25 which before anybody laughs is actually an incredibly good little car, was fully specced with leather and AC, head and arm rests all round and so on. Having seen what a poor and ordinary 25 can be like I know only too well why most people would sigh but it was in my opinion still a very good buy, and totally reliable! With a change of circumstances I decided to head back toward an older car in the shape of a 95 Rover 216 Coupe, and yes that is with the Honda D16a6, and of course a mid-nineties BM era K-series version car was something I'd wish to avoid. It has been an absolutely wonderful car, really enjoyable to drive particularly with the addition of strut braces really sharpening things up front and again wholly reliable as well as gorgeous to look at. It is an SE model so has the spoiler, turbo wheels, half leather and front fogs. Also my Father and I are restoring a 1981 Triumph TR7 DHC that will be receiving a warmed over 3.5 Rover V8, S+S subframe lowering the centre of gravity and sending weight further back, Spax adjustables, modern wheels and so on. But the car you will be most interested in is the replacement for the coupe, as I have take the opportunity to take over Dad's A4. He bought the car at 3 years old in 2001, initially snubbing it because it didn't have a