PDA

View Full Version : Replacing standard Passat speakers

shuggy2005
04-04-2008, 11:50 PM
Hi People,

I am new to the car business and this forum, so apologies if I have posted in the wrong section.

I have blown my front left speaker on my 2001 Y reg Passat and I am looking to get the changed. Do you guys know what size the speakers are ? and are they relativeley easy to replace? Because i know places charge silly money just to replace them.

Many thanks in advance

Shuggy

kimandsally
05-04-2008, 10:51 PM
Hi People,

I am new to the car business and this forum, so apologies if I have posted in the wrong section.

I have blown my front left speaker on my 2001 Y reg Passat and I am looking to get the changed. Do you guys know what size the speakers are ? and are they relativeley easy to replace? Because i know places charge silly money just to replace them.

Many thanks in advance

Shuggy

Hi mate I might be able to do you a favor here, I have a set of Sharan speakers from a 1999 model, chances are they are the same, if you want to take your speakers out and measure them I'll let you know if they'll fit.

If you've not taken speakers out before they are easy to do, you have to pull the door trim off, first look if there are any screws and take them out then carefully pull the trim away from the door and using a torch you will see plastic holding clips you have to pull the trim off at that point, some will break but they are a few pence only and can be got from the VW dealer readily, take your time and you "might" not break any of them, I find a plastic 12" ruler to be handy along with a flat bladed screwdriver, first cover all the blade of the screwdriver with masking tape to stop any damage if you slip.

shuggy2005
06-04-2008, 10:17 PM
Thanks for the reply.