PDA

View Full Version : Stiff boot lid on Bora

pcs7038
03-12-2006, 10:51 AM
The boot lid on my Bora is very very stiff - I have to push hard to lift it and pull hard to shut it. Apparently this is a common 'feature'. Is there a common solution?

Eshrules
03-12-2006, 05:07 PM
im no expert but after talking to the mechanic of the family, i reckon you're going to just need to replace the hydraulic struts that lift the boot, they shouldnt be very expensive from a scrappy and its not that hard a job, bolt on bolt off, job done! other than that, they could just be a little seized but for what its worth,id just replace them, i could be totally wrong though! :beerchug:

pcs7038
03-12-2006, 08:10 PM
Should have mentioned - the car is less than 2 years old and the problem has been there since I bought it, so I wouldn't expect the hydraulics to have seized. Although if they have, it is presumably a warranty item...

Eshrules
03-12-2006, 10:19 PM
ok, a couple of things.

something like the hydraulics wouldnt necessarily be age-conditioned, it can be down to all kinds of things, if the boot has been slammed open and shut for those years, there going to have taken a beating, can be affected by things such as the weather conditions or could have just been a pair of badly made ones, anything could cause it. the other thing id probably check is the actualy hinges of the hatch, make sure theres no 'stick' in the hinges, u might wana try a bit of grease or wd40 see if thats the problem.