PDA

View Full Version : In car noise in new Golf 1.6 FSI

mk4ever
30-11-2006, 10:43 PM
I was wondering if anyone can help me

My mother recently bought a new Golf 1.6 FSI from a dealership in Cambridge. Soon after she started experiencing in car noises, vibrations and clicking etc. I had a drive in it, and I could definitely hear them. I'm an mk4 driver and previous to buying the mk5 my mother owned an mk4, so we know what golf’s sound like. So I decided to persuaded my mother to take it back, she didn't want to be fobbed off for being a woman so I went with her. This is where the problems started.

We took the car in, and told them of our issues with the car. 2 days later the car was returned, and a voice mail message left saying they too could hear the noises but VW advised that it should be "bedded in". I thought this was rubbish advice and service, and told them so in a letter.

A little while later the Service Manager phoned, and asked if we would bring the car back in, so he could personally drive it. So we took the car back in. An engineer came out with us for a test drive, and after a while admitted that he could hear the noises, but said that he thinks it's the fact that it's a FSI?? Ok we thought, but at his suggestion we took out a pool car. Yes it sounded similar, but it didn't have the odd clicking that my mum’s car has. We informed the engineer of this, and around 10 mins later the Service Manager came out and informed us that are car was "perfect" and all FSI's make these noises.

I insisted that he and I went out in the car, where he proceeded to ask me "So WHAT can you hear then all very frustrating!!! So I asked him to respond to me in writing, to which he responded "V***** don't write letters" great customer service!! Next day, phoned up VW UK who to be fair were very sympathetic, and asked us to get a second opinion.