PDA

View Full Version : Audi Avant A4 Symphony Stereo Radio failure

SimonVindec
18-03-2008, 11:00 PM
Hi I'm a Newbie so sorry if I ramble. I've owned a year2000 A4 Avant TDI Manual for the last 3 years. I was not given the activation code for the Smphony stereo by the previous owner. I feared I would have to change the battery at some point, so when it went in for service I asked the Audi dealers to try and extract the stereo, get the serial number and give me the activation code. Simple? OH No! they cracked the facia and told me the keys didn't work so it was a dash out job £Hundreds. So I carried on with fingers crossed. I never really used the radio part of the stereo but did experience difficulty finding stations and put it down to my lack of undertsanding and the probability that the station signal was mixed up in the traffic broadcast information service which I'd discovered after just first getting the car. or the RDS or Memo service thingy Zzzzzz.
Anyway! The enevitable flat battery meant a new battery fitted. When I tried the stereo I expected the safe mode screen requesting the code, but instead I got nothing and guessed it was one of the two fuses. You guessed it! yessss it was the one behind the stereo to which I could not get!!