PDA

View Full Version : My T4 Clutch

seren
17-03-2008, 10:05 PM
Hi everyone im new to this computer world so you ll have to bear with me iv just boght a 52 plate T4 and the clutch judders quiete bad as you take off just wondering if any one could drop some light on the subject is this a problem or not any replies be great

Ricky Young
18-03-2008, 02:07 PM
Had same problem with my 51 t4. The thrust bearing had gone,happened just as warrenty ran out. My van started making grinding noises after a while so went to my local garage who replaced it and put in new clutch for £1200,hope this helps
Ricky

seren
18-03-2008, 07:48 PM
Hi buddie thanx for reply just wondering what sort of mileage had yrs done before this had happened mine has done 57k iv only just bougth van yesterday and not sure what to say to the garage i had it from should they be liable to repair it

Herman.58
21-03-2008, 06:53 PM
A juddery clutch is commonplace on the 2.5 tdi. It has a dual mass flywheel which has been targetted as the cause. My 2002 88hp juddered when I pulled away. I just got used to it. I think it unlikely that it is the release bearing. When that starts to fail you normally get noise when you depress the clutch, not judder.

My 2.5 has solid flywheel larger diameter clutch as I have 160hp to contend with. It still judders slightly on pullaway. but I reckon that thats more likely to be caused by the engine mounts struggling to cope with the extra torque.

I'd be reluctant to go changing your clutch unless its slipping.:beerchug:

Herman.58
21-03-2008, 06:59 PM
My van had done 65k when i bought it. It only started slipping when I upped the power. The judder was just an annoyance. I belong to the T4 forum, plenty of guys have reported similar issues with clutch. The 102 hp clutch is normally better I think.:beerchug:

seren
21-03-2008, 07:29 PM