PDA

View Full Version : critical fuel consumtion..1.9tdi

paddyd99
16-03-2008, 06:50 AM
Hi all,

Im a cabbie here in Ireland with a major problem. My new (for me) 2003 skoda octavia automatic is absoloutly guzziling diesel.Ive always been a Toyota man due to their reliability. My last car was a 1.6 petrol avensis that was heavy on juice but reliable as a clock. I decided to change to a diesel skoda due to their legendry fuel consumption and the automatic gearbox is great in traffic. The car looks perfect,drives perfect, 74,000 on the clock,1 owner but hell does she drink juice.I know Im a heavy driver, most of my driving is done in the city at night and I dont hang around but on the first few fills ive barely being scraping 29 mpg out of her...Its been as low as 26..When I bought her, the guy said he did the timing belt and replaced the radiator due to a light crash....My own mechanic said that it was a small crash and that the repairs were top class...any ideas anyone..........help..oh also I forgot to mention, sometimes but rarely...once a week or so...when im stopped for a bit and go to start her the engine wont fire...she turns but wont fire....then all of a sudden she will start and run perfectly on the 4th or 5th attempt.

ini
16-03-2008, 01:17 PM
If it is the older TDI engine (not PD) i would check the fuel pump timing?

paddyd99
16-03-2008, 04:10 PM
thanks for the reply ini,
Im nearly sure its the old tdi engine allright. Can I check the fuel pump timing myself or does it have to go to the dealer. Would any mechanic know what I was talking about if i left it to them??

ini
16-03-2008, 04:32 PM
The injection pump timing needs to be checked using an OBD cable & vagcom or garage/dealer equipment.

greg123
24-04-2008, 11:04 AM