PDA

View Full Version : Audi help please

idboo
21-11-2006, 08:58 PM
Hello:fing02: I'm Daz from Rotherham and I'm on the look out for an Audi 80 coupe 2.6 v6.just been having a look round for some Audi forums and come across ur's:biglaugh: nice site.

I could really do with some help as to what to look out for when i find a nice 1????? What mileage should the belts have been done any knocks and rattles i should listen for etc.....any help would be much appreciated as I've not had an Audi before and really no nowt about them atm:Blush: but I'm sure I'll pick it up as i go along.
:beerchug: Daz.

Boardboy
21-11-2006, 09:01 PM
Welcome Daz
Sorry I don't know about Audi 80's but i'm sure someone will let you know what to look for. I hope you get your answer.
Regards Boardboy

idboo
21-11-2006, 09:06 PM
Cheers:fing02:

Marc97
21-11-2006, 09:55 PM
Hi Daz, welcome to the boards. I'm no expert on Audi 80's either but I do own one and a friend of mine owns a coupe so maybe I can give you a couple of suggestions what to look for. Obviously, before a road test you should look at the bodywork, check for any signs of accident damage and repair and also look for signs of corrosion, under the bonnet, in the boot and especially under or near to external plastic trims.
Late 80's don't suffer from terminal tinworm so if you find some, it is evidence that the car has been damaged and repaired at some point.

Get inside, check that the windows go up and down smoothly, if not you might be looking at a tedious window machanism replacement in the near future. Also, check that dash warning lights work correctly and that the heater controls are also working and the heater blows hot.
Check that the seats move forwards on both sides and check the rear seat to make sure it drops. There could be a small central locking problem if not.