PDA

View Full Version : PD or non PD?

Marc97
17-11-2006, 08:06 PM
What should I look for on my Audi 80 TDi to visually check whether my pump is a PD or non PD pump?

Cheers,

Marc.

adamss24
17-11-2006, 08:31 PM
Your car had a rotary pump and sepperate injectors conected with high pressure metal pipes. PD(pumpe deuse) as the name says its a mini pump/injector unit that had way higher pressure(about 2500 PSI !) on each piston. Depending on the year of your car/engine code you either had a 90 Hp 1Z engine with a direct injection(Hence TDI) or it could be a indirected injection, AAZ engine with 75 Hp. But i think you said its a TDI so it iz a 1Z-90 Hp.

Marc97
17-11-2006, 11:33 PM
Ye mate, deffo a a 1.9 TDi, 1995 (M) is the year.

So it's looking like non PD? In that case, does anybody know where the plug is that the 'Tuning Box' plugs into?

Sorry, I'm new to Audi's and therefore a bit thick.

Cheers for the reply.

Marc.

adamss24
18-11-2006, 01:43 AM
The tunning box its supposed to fit between the ecu and the injection pump. You have to unplug the IP conector and count how many pins are on the plug. I suppose its only 8. THEN WHEN THE BOX COMES, YOU PLUG ONE END OF THE BOX TO THE ECU CONECTOR AND THE OTHER ONE TO THE PUMP. YOU CANNOT GO WRONG. If you looking for the diagnostic plugs, i think your car its OBD1 so it will have 2 plugs: one white and the other black or brown in the box on the bulkhead where some relays and fuses are.

Marc97
18-11-2006, 01:49 AM
Ta mate. RE: The plug, see my other post about 'The 'magic' plug'
Driving me mental though, I'm thinking it will have to be chipped rather than a tuning box???
Although you seem to know more than me about this so, continuing with my theme of 'being thick', here goes:

What is an IP connector, where would it be on my car?
Where is the ECU connector (where is the ECU?)?