PDA

View Full Version : Scratched front bumper

JontraK
18-12-2007, 10:29 PM
Hi all,

I;ve managed to scratch my front bumber few times on the entrance of my drive (pic attached). I was wondering if there is an easy way of fixing this or do I need to replace the bumper. Further to this, I was wondering if its possible to replace the mouldings on the bumpers and the doors with colour coded ones or even chromed ones?

Appreaciate any help.

Rob

PeoplesMan
18-12-2007, 11:16 PM
Complete novice and in no way experienced with crash repairs but....

I used to scrape my Civic off pretty much everything years back when I was learning to drive and marked her like you've marked your wagon.

I used some Turtle Wax Rubbing Compound and worked at it for a good while and then finished her off with a good wash, blow dry and a coat or two of wax... It worked for me and that was a silver car.

In rwlation to chroming the vynl, if you find a way, will you PM me it as I would love nothing more !

There is a place down the road who offered to take all the mouldings off and paint them the same colour as the car some time back but they couldnt do the chrome job for me... :(

Best of luck !

JontraK
18-12-2007, 11:57 PM
Cheers mate,

I've already tried washing and waxing but without much luck. The corner was grazed on a brick wall so it will prob. need some light cosmetic work I guess... WRT the chrome mouldings, I just managed to locate some on the euro car parts website. I did a search as below:

Manufacturer:Volkswagen
Year:2002
Model:Passat Estate 1.9 TDi AWX AVF : 96kw (4cyl)
Search:FRONT BUMPER

There seems to be plenty of mouldings, coloured (primed) and chromed as well.
I will be looking into this after Xmass...

Anyone else has any suggestions about my scratches?

RickT
19-12-2007, 12:50 AM
Hi,

That can be fixed with very little work from a painter..