PDA

View Full Version : brakes

Zubair
11-12-2007, 05:22 AM
im a little new at this but here goz...

i have a 1999 MK IV golf 1.6...i know only a baby but what can i do, mr insurance man says im too young at 18 to have anything bigger. anyway...:o

when i am driving on the moterway or at high speeds (legaly;)) from about 65mph on...when i brake i have heavy shaking in the stearing weel...is this normal. or is there a problem with the car?:confused:

please:1zhelp:

thanx

chris.fulton
11-12-2007, 11:42 AM
A tiny bit of shaking when braking at high speed isn't that strange but if the wheel is shaking quite a lot then I would suggest you maybe have warped discs or pads. This can happen if you brake heavily and suddenly quite a lot or if the pads didn't 'bed in' properly when they were last replaced. Best bet would be to get a garage to check the discs and pads over to see if they need replaced.

Zubair
11-12-2007, 07:06 PM
thank you very much...will get on that...

and i have the exact same car as yours!

i love the colour!!! lol

chrisvrscrx
11-12-2007, 07:13 PM
The discs will be warped. The warping can't be seen by the naked eye. Its probably best just to replace the disc and pads.

Zubair
11-12-2007, 07:21 PM
i guess i need to change the discs and the brakes then....if i leave it for a month or so it will nt make the situation any worse will it? as i have no money at this point...xmas just takes it all out of u!...it should be fine shldnt it... :confused:

chrisvrscrx
11-12-2007, 07:33 PM
Just take it easy and you should be ok.

Zubair
15-12-2007, 10:05 PM
do you think it is worth gettin the brakes upgraded...or just sticking with the standerd ones ...as the upgreades (drilled) are only 25£ more? but if i had the front done would that mean the back would need upgradeing aswel????? :confused:

sori im soo clueless in the brakes department!

mluton
15-12-2007, 10:59 PM
Could also be out of balance wheels. Get all your wheels rebalanced at your local Mr tyre.