PDA

View Full Version : Exhaust smoking and spitting oil

eskimo
28-11-2007, 05:28 PM
Hi recently my 94 Golf driver 1.8 started losing power and going through a lot of petrol, I brought it to my mechanic and he noticed my thermostat was not working, he replaced this and it seemed to help but maybe that was more wishful thinking.petrol consumption isnt as bad but the car still shakes and smokes a lot when sarted.i put my hand up to the exhaust a noticed black specs on my hand,but when the temp gets up the smoke more or less goes but comes back when i accelerate,any help would be great as i love the car,and they are pretty rare.

28-11-2007, 09:36 PM
i am no expert but i say that your engine is knackered the smoke and oil is probaly due to oil burning which means your piston rings are well worn this is more so when your engine is cold but everything expands once warm so a bit more of seal in the bores but once you put the pressure on as in accelerate all the weakness is shown by the cloud of smoke sorry to be the bearer of bad news no easy fix!!! do a compression check or ask your garage to this will show what is going on
like isaid no expert but heh worth a look

Crasher
28-11-2007, 09:49 PM
I would say that due to the stuck open thermostat your engine was running very rich and consequently the lambda sensor in the exhaust has become contaminated with soot and will now need replacing. A fault code read would be a good idea.

28-11-2007, 10:04 PM
crasher just a quick one not questioning your knowledge as i can see you are well known on this site and have plenty of knowledge
would the spark plugs not help with this diagnosis as in (wet and oily) worn rings or covered in hard black carbon (over rich) is both not worth checking???
regards sticky

Crasher
28-11-2007, 11:37 PM