PDA

View Full Version : random overheating problem, no heat from a/c, please help!

rabby
19-11-2007, 06:38 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie here, and I've never had any problem with my car until yesterday, when i noticed the heaters werent working. I waited in vain in the freezing cold for the air to turn hot, but despite the temp guage showing a normal reading, the fans were still blowing cold air. so i decided to check my water reservoir.

the water level seemed normal, but i couldnt get the cap off because of the pressure. so i decided to leave it. then, on the way home, i noticed my temp guage shoot up to around 110, naturally i panicked, pulled over and stopped. out of nowhere my car's developed this overheating problem. there were no warning signs. the car runs fine and heats up normally til the midway mark on the guage. interestingly, the fans DO NOT engage.
since then i've had the cooling system flushed and it doesnt seem to be a problem with pressure. the thermostat has also been replaced. the pipes leading into the heater matrix become very hot but do not seem to be carrying water as they feel empty when massaged. there doesnt seem to be any obvious leak in the cooling system. and i've not had any loss of power that would suggest a more serious problem. i'm baffled, and i dont fancy handing the car to some crook in a garage who could just as easily create a problem which isnt there. has anybody eperienced similar problems, and can anybody offer any suggestions as to what the problem might be? any help would be greatly appreciated.

Dollso
20-11-2007, 10:01 AM
just a guess.. air lock in the system? are both the pipes coming from the radiator hot? (i.e.. one on top and one on bottom) have you had the water pump checked?

rabby
20-11-2007, 03:41 PM
i should have said its a 1996 1.4l 8v

i've not had the water pump checked out yet.