PDA

View Full Version : Question Coolant pump B open cct P261A 00(237)

dovski
06-01-2019, 05:55 PM
Hello V-dubbers,

I am a newbie to this forum again. Having built my 20V 1.8t and stuck it in my lotus its been going well as has my Amarok until the title popped up. I used to have vagcom but sold it with my A4 3.0tdi..So, I'm using torque for android and have backed up the fault as detected by vagcom at ADS in Preston. I replaced the pump with one from Amazon at £40 new and it runs and I'm able to reset the fault code but the code still appears randomly, with the car going into limp home. I've tried to get the wiring/color codng for the pump 3 pin plug but theres nothing around I can find. Even the fuse box illustrations are diverse and pretty useless, theres no fuse in slot 14 for example which is the pump fuse according to ausamarok forum images...

Can anyone help with further diagnosis? I wondered if there is an associated temp sensor giving erroneous output? The old pump is defo nackered as the fault is hard once plugged back in circuit...and doesnt run immediately on connection unlike the new one. Theres also a relay in the circuit I believe but unsure where this item lives..

Scratching my head...

Crasher
06-01-2019, 06:11 PM
Could you message me the cars REG, there are two electric pumps on some models.

dovski
07-01-2019, 09:54 AM
Thank you, its (as sent). There is a second pump similar to the EGR pump, it appears to be in the heater matrix circuit?
Drove to work last night, about 25miles at 60mph on motorway and cruise cut out, limp home mode. Plugged 'Torque' in my phone and reset the same code on the hoof as it were...same thing happened on the way home again. I dont see any idents on the plug for cabling, hoping the new pump fitted from 'Amazon' isnt the issue, it was £40 compared to the £145+ from VW though..:confused:

dovski
07-01-2019, 09:57 AM
------

Crasher
07-01-2019, 06:50 PM