PDA

View Full Version : Seats in New passat

luckda
29-10-2007, 02:13 PM
We are shortly looking to buy a new passat estate and are deliberating between a SE and Sport. Can anyone share their experiences of the two different types of seats - the sport seats and the flatter versions in the SE.
Is there sufficient lateral support on the SE?
Are they comfotable on long journeys?
Any other pros and cons?

iaint
29-10-2007, 02:46 PM
I have an SE and have no problem at all with the seats. The comfort over long journeys I find to be excellent and I can drive for several hours with out experiencing any backache or numbness.

As for lateral support, I drive almost exclusively on the motorways and find the seats more than adequate. I can't comment on how they would hold you on a quick drive along a twisty B road though. Having said that I don't think the set up of the Passat is suited to that type of driving anyway.

As for the sports seats, I've no experience of them so over to someone else. . . . . .

Cheers
Iain

Santana
29-10-2007, 03:49 PM
I have standard (non-SE) seats which are excellent. They are both supportive on corners and comfortable on long journeys. They are very firm, typical VW in that respect, but that's what I like, and one of the reasons I bought the car in the first place.

LuvWatch
29-10-2007, 09:02 PM
I have the sports model with leather seats.

When I first went for a test drive in it I thought the lateral supports were a bit intrusive, but still went for it. I now don't notice them and in general I find them comfortable and firm.

As long as your bum isn't the size of a house the sport seats should be fine. :biglaugh:

Good luck with your choice.

Derek

BenR
30-10-2007, 01:32 PM
I have standard SE seats in cloth. They never seem to be comfortable yet I've never had any serious discomfort on a long run. They are pretty soft, you sit in rather than on them.

luckda
30-10-2007, 02:55 PM