PDA

View Full Version : Coding question mmi and facia swap



Cricket0310
11-04-2017, 01:02 PM
Hi, just got replacement 5f module, spoke to a few people to help code with vcds, they all say they dont think they can copy codes of old module and paste to new one until Audi have removed component protection, is this true??some say that i dont need to code it only remove component protection?

Also desperately trying to find instructions on net how to take front plastic face off my module and fix to replacement module, as i bought it without it??

Any help would be highly appreciated thanks or if anyone know anyone up sheffield way that knows what yhey are doing

buddyboy
11-04-2017, 01:07 PM
If it's a new module it will probably need the dealership to remove the component protection, then you should be able to code it with vcds

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Gunnark100
11-04-2017, 01:10 PM
Hi, just got replacement 5f module, spoke to a few people to help code with vcds, they all say they dont think they can copy codes of old module and paste to new one until Audi have removed component protection, is this true??


Good luck with those specialist around you, i am not fancy repeat myself :) you can do coding before or after, no matter really, you need to tweak in green menu after anyway to match all your car options, but probably local boys are aware of that! CP has nothing to do with coding or sw update, done MANY times with different modules!

Cricket0310
11-04-2017, 01:13 PM
Its not brand new got it from ebay but new to my car i guess, should i stay clear from people who say they can do removal of component protection without going to audi, or will that work just as good, dont want to mess new unit up

buddyboy
11-04-2017, 01:17 PM
I think if it's used component protection should already be removed. Maybe just connect it up and see what happens

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Cricket0310
11-04-2017, 01:17 PM
Local boys arent aware of much really mate, i told them what you advised gunnark but they dont understand.

Gunnark100
11-04-2017, 01:22 PM
Local boys arent aware of much really mate, i told them what you advised gunnark but they dont understand.

If you have your old module printout scan or similar, let them take coding from there and so to say manualy copy paste to the new one with vcds, after its fitted, dealer usualy will not do this! You can do this before or after dealer will remove component protection. Most of used units have still component protection, only few big sellers remove those before selling.

Its my, dont use it:copy coding from old scan to new:
Part No SW: 4E0 035 666 K HW: 4E0 035 666 C
Component: H-BN-EU H52 0187
Revision: -------- Serial number: 454I+0B7592073
Coding: 01010001020681ED05000F1D000000010001

Shop #: WSC 25712 136 13133
VCID: 2E591061790C649

Cricket0310
11-04-2017, 01:26 PM
Thanks mate, i really appreciate it,

Gunnark100
11-04-2017, 01:46 PM
Whenever they done with coding, let them activate green menu(engineering) also, as you probably need to play there a bit, to get all function work under car-menu etc...

Green menu activation:
module 5F - adaption - channel 6 - change value to 1, save. Restart a system!

Cricket0310
11-04-2017, 02:30 PM
I just managed to speak to a company who say they will code for me by connecting to vag server? will take few hours but new unit will be ready to use without going to Audi. I bloody hope so, they are not cheap will cost same as Audi 145 but will replace the face and swap the units also. Finally hope this is it!!, will keep u posted and thanks a million pal

Gunnark100
11-04-2017, 06:40 PM
I just managed to speak to a company who say they will code for me by connecting to vag server? will take few hours but new unit will be ready to use without going to Audi. I bloody hope so, they are not cheap will cost same as Audi 145 but will replace the face and swap the units also. Finally hope this is it!!, will keep u posted and thanks a million pal

Good to hear, hopefully all up and running after that, "250" is a bit better then "2800":D

Cricket0310
15-04-2017, 12:53 PM
Good to hear, hopefully all up and running after that, "250" is a bit better then "2800":D

Hi mate, hope ur well, thought id give you an update. Removed face from old 5f unit and attached to new, took me a few hours to figure out.

If you ever need to change the face of a 5f unit mate:

Needed to take out the parking sensor and esp button as there are two screws which are only accessible after these have been removed, then remove screws from top of unit so i could lift top off slightly in order to be able to release 4 clips holding the face in at the top. I guess its a 10 minute job now that i know what im doing but i took apart my old unit in the process of taking it off as i wasnt sure what was holding it in place.

First good news is that the unit is working obviously with CP notification and no sound, the telephone says it is not installed, im not sure why.

Im going to go and get CP removed from someone locally not Audi, do you know if theres any risk in doing this i.e frying the unit i have bought as its not getting done by Audi?, dont want to take any chances!!

You are a wise man Gunnark, i should have listened to your exact steps but i had ants in my pants and couldnt wait to swap things over to see if the new unit worked. I should have got the coding off the old unit first as this is why the bluetooth/tel is not working i guess. I will now have to try and put my old unit back together so that i can get the old codes (iv proper dismantled it).

I cant thank you enough mate fir all your help from start to finish 👍

Gunnark100
15-04-2017, 01:14 PM
Thanks for feedback "Cricket" , not many people give info after they get help, so its nice! behavior.

Regarding cp(component protection), no they cant fry unit, relax:).

Regarding your phone, its probably coding issue, as no idea with what setup car it came etc...3G module can use outer bt module(under seat) and also it has separate module inside also, so after coding is done and still no phone, you need to go into green menu and activate hfp(handsfree profile), I cant remember exactly what is the coding using outer or inner module.

You see example settings here, I dont remember what is my settings, but i use inner module for bt, no bt module under seat for me!

https://trick77.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/diagnose.jpg

So after main coding copy paste is done, will get some answers!