PDA

View Full Version : Tracker + Fuel Pump

andyhud007
29-03-2016, 09:15 AM
Guys

I'm looking into a tracker (reasons irrelevant) but one option is to hook into the fuel pump circuit so it can cut and the car will supposedly roll to a stop (again, not here to discuss safety concerns etc about this).

My real question is as I'm not a car mechanic, is if the fuel pump is cut, what damage, if any, does that do to the engine.. especially in a new Q7 for example with all its hi-tech gadgetry

Any ideas?

Cheers

EDIT: Found this, not sure if same applies: http://abacuscaralarms.co.uk/members/forums/index.php?showtopic=3308

Q7newbie
16-07-2016, 03:44 PM
Just came across this post Andy, I did you every bite the bullet on it? Sounds a very good form of immobilisation.

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

andyhud007
16-07-2016, 05:40 PM
Hi mate,

Not yet. I plan to do it in the next few weeks when I tear the car apart for other stuff. I'm just clarifying the fuel pump wiring before doing any work. I can keep you posted if you wish

Andy

Q7newbie
17-07-2016, 04:58 AM
That would be good. I'm always eager to keep informed of any good additions or modifications.

Are you planning on doing it by yourself I get?

andyhud007
17-07-2016, 09:40 AM
That would be good. I'm always eager to keep informed of any good additions or modifications.

Are you planning on doing it by yourself I get?

Will do it myself. Just working out the wiring. There are 2 fuels pumps in the car (high and low pressure ones) so may not be the right route... I'll keep you posted via this thread.

wee_gua
21-07-2016, 01:43 AM