PDA

View Full Version : Picking up tomorrow!

NickTyler
18-02-2016, 10:56 AM
Hi All

Newbie here. I am swapping my 2014 2.0tdi Q3 for a new 272 Q7 tomorrow and looking forward to it. I think it is going to be a big upgrade. And I mean BIG in every sense of the word.

I got an amazing deal and it has tech pack and 20" star wheels as the only options. I have one question if you wouldn't mind.

With the Audi connect 3-year subscription that comes with the tech pack does this include data? From the official gumph I can't tell if I need to put in a sim card/phone or if that is what the 'subscription' actually is.

Cheers

Nick

Nemo78
18-02-2016, 01:52 PM
Hi Nick...hope you have a great day picking the car up.

You need to provide data either via a data sim or mobile hot spot to access the connect services including Google Maps.

The subscription is actually just to use the services that Connect includes - I.e. News, fuel prices, train/flight times and whatever else comes in to it

NickTyler
18-02-2016, 02:08 PM
Oh. That sounds pretty pointless then for the price. Thanks I will see how I get on with the mobile hot spot.

Nemo78
18-02-2016, 02:33 PM
Yeah in the early days is set up RSS news feeds and things (oh you get the weather as well) and used Connect a fair bit...now I don't really.

Google Maps however is always open to pick up traffic which is helpful

Hot spot works fine but drains phone battery unless you're charging at the same time. Became a faff so I just opted to get a data sim and share my phone data

Skippy73
20-02-2016, 04:02 PM
So what's it like?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pitch3110
21-02-2016, 09:50 PM
Sorry to gate crash your thread OP, but yesterday I ordered a new Q7 and unsure of this connect malarkey so would welcome some feedback.

I currently have a 2014 BE A6 with the tech pack high. I have a data SIM in the dash that gives me Google maps, news, weather etc.. Will the Q7 do the same with the standard S line tech pack??

many thanks