PDA

View Full Version : An unexpected departure.....

fat controller
25-08-2015, 08:03 PM
As some of you know, I have been considering changing my car for a few months now, with a view to getting an A6 Avant, even getting as far as setting up a test drive about a month ago. That test drive didn't happen, as the dealer didn't have the V5, and despite waiting weeks, it never turned up; others that I had seen were not to the spec I was looking for or had quite a bit of 'leg' on them (ex-fleet) and whilst I know the cars are good for it, to be honest it scared me a wee bit (having had the dreaded clutch and DMF issue resurface on my A4 for the second time in three years and 18k miles, for example);

Yesterday, we took a trip to a Vauxhall dealer (I know, I know :big laugh:) as they were doing deals with 5 years interest free credit and five years free servicing on new cars - - too good to be true? Well, yes. It was only on certain models (you know, the ones that nobody wants), and the salesman kept on trying to switch us to a used car (completely defeating the object of the exercise, as the only reason I was even considering a Vauxhall was the thought of buying something brand new, with the warranty etc etc. Worse still, when I asked to see an Astra estate to see what size it was, they didn't have one. Then he decided it was a good idea to start slating another manufacturers product (never a good move), so we left thinking he was talking through a hole in his rear, and headed to that other manufacturer's local main dealer.

We had a brief visit (it was absolutely mobbed in there) but saw a car that Mrs C really took a shine to and I must confess that I did too, albeit out of our budget as a new carr; we went home, and found a used ones just a matter of months old, with less than 10k on the clock and the balance of the manufacturers warranty, so went for a test drive this afternoon, and bought it.