PDA

View Full Version : Please Help Vas pc?

VWRobtec
22-03-2015, 09:48 AM
Hi, I have recently purchased from EBay, a second hand Pansonic Toughbook CF-53. It came with VAS PC loaded and what looks to be a Bluetooth OBD reader. The seller said it was purchased for diagnostic work which never came, hence the sale. On the bottom of the laptop is a Volkswagen device number Nr 120558. I believe that it is a genuine product but know little about it.
I did not buy it for this purpose but have a 2010 Tiguan Rline (wife's car) and a 2012 Vw Transporter Sportline. I have a factory Bluetooth to be installed in the Tiguan and a MFSW to go in to the Transporter. I have been installing mobile electronics to vehicles for some 30 years but have not been involved with diagnostics before.
Im thinking that I may be able to use the PC to diagnose both my vehicles and maybe generate some work in this area, and need advice on the best way to learn more about it.
can anyone help?

neilos100
22-03-2015, 12:39 PM
Sure it's not been stolen from VW?

Sent from my HTC One using Xparent Red Tapatalk 2

VWRobtec
22-03-2015, 12:45 PM
No, not really. The guy had two for sale and seemed quite genuine. How can I tell if it is genuine/legit?

Doctle Odd
22-03-2015, 01:07 PM
The price should give some indication and/or checking for updates

VWRobtec
22-03-2015, 02:49 PM
I paid £680 for the Toughbook. What do you mean by updates. I brought a new caddy and HDD and loaded win7. I still have the HDD and caddy with VAS PC and WIN XP loaded. When I run it, it does ask for a disc, but then it seems to run ok. I haven't tried to use it though.

VWRobtec
22-03-2015, 07:07 PM
I've just tried it connected to my sportline and it seemed to work. I looked at the eBay listing and I brought it from a shop in Dorset. I'm sure it's legit but need to know more about how to use it. What's the best way to get some training?

Flash2
24-03-2015, 05:27 PM
Sure it's not been stolen from VW?