PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about a Toledo 2.3 V5 any advice?

sdds_8
30-09-2007, 01:26 AM
Hello, I'm new to the foum and wanted a little advice.

I'm thinking about getting a Toledo 2.3 V5 around 2000-2001 model. My budget is around £3000-£4000.

I've been thinking about a Golf, Bora, Passat, Skoda Octavia or the Toledo. Of all the Toledo V5 seems to be the best value for money.

I see the Toledo came with either the 150hp or 170hp engine. Is there a way I can work out if the car has the 150 or 170hp engine? Also when looking is there anything I should look out for?

Final question: How does the V5 compare with the 1.8T? It remaps higher but other than that is it much different to drive?

Thanks for any advice!
Bradley

Seat til I die
11-10-2007, 01:36 PM
my advice is to buy one.

i owned a blue 'w' reg V5 and it is probably the best value for money car i will ever own as long as i live.
mine was a 150bhp but if u get one with the factory satnav then it will be the 170bhp version, other than that just find out which engine number is which and check the logbook (thats how i found out, thanks VAG forum!!)

loads better than a problematic bora, cheaper than a golf... octavia good car to, not much in it really, my dad owns a 51reg 4x4 turbo octavia and it may just be margianally better car than my toledo was but didnt have half the spec the toledo v5 does as standard so horses for courses really.

as for the 2.3 engine remapping higher, well this just isnt true, a 1.8T will always see bigger gains from a remap... which is why i never had my toledo done.

2.3 V5 150; 162bhp
2.3 V5 170; 182bhp

1.8T 150; 187bhp
1.8T 180; 218bhp

So if power gains is what you want then consider an Octavia, but the Toledo is a much more impressive motorway cruiser... as a daily driver theres really not much in it, mpg is slightly better in the Octavia 150bhp thats all I can really think that seperates them, 2 really GREAT cars.

Chiptech
15-10-2007, 10:57 PM