PDA

View Full Version : Hardwire 5 volt In-Car Camera

derekjspence
08-01-2015, 01:07 PM
Hi all

A bit of a newbie here so apologies if this has been posted and answered before.

I have an in-car camera (NextBase 402G Professional, Nextbase UK - Nextbase In Car Camera (http://www.nextbase.co.uk/products/iN%252dCAR-CAM%E2%84%A2-402%252dG-Professional.html)) and I am looking for advice on hardwiring this to the fuse box of my 2013 A4 saloon.
The camera is charged via a 5Vdc cable. The cable in the box has a lighter socket plug with an integrated 12Vdc x 5Vdc converter (as the camera charges on 5Vdc).
I don't like the idea of permanently having cables running exposed inside the car and don't want to use the lighter socket in the centr consol.
I am looking to mount the camera as discretely behind the rear view mirror.
Ideally, I would like to hook up the charging cable to a slot on the fuse box and route the cable through the A-Pilar and along the top of the windscreen bafore appearing at the rear view mirror (as discretely as possible).

Can anyone advise on the best way to achieve this.
What equipment will I need (please supply links to products).
How do I open panels (such as the A-Pilar cover) without causing damage (especially to the airbag).
What fuse slot should I use (with explaination).

Any feedback on this would be fantastic.

Many thanks in advance.
Derek

M1tchy
08-01-2015, 01:12 PM
Been asked and answered loads of times mate. Try the search function on the forum and you should get loads of topics that answer all your questions.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

derekjspence
14-01-2015, 11:23 AM
M1tchy

Thanks for the reply. I am aware of a number of posts about hardwiring, I just haven't found anything of great help. It's not easy to search forums for specific threads (usually get over 50 pages, 90% of threads have nothing to do with the topic searched).