PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with questions -Audi A6

Timncfc
06-11-2014, 06:38 PM
Hi guys,
Firstly im no mechanic or expert on cars, i have just bought an Audi A6 3.0tdi estate on a 05 plate, i don`t have a full service history but am concerned about the cambelt, ive spoken to two garages, one says its a cambelt and the other a timing chain, can anyone verify which it is.

Secondly the fuel gauge doesn`t work which i have heard is common on this model, now does anyone know someone in the Northwest who can repair this reasonably.

And the questions keep coming, do the wheels from an Audi A3 fit on the A6?

The car drives lovely and im really pleased, i have had a couple of TT`s before and the quality of Audi cars has always impressed me, thanks in advance for any replies

Lukenkarl
06-11-2014, 07:58 PM
Hi guys,
Firstly im no mechanic or expert on cars, i have just bought an Audi A6 3.0tdi estate on a 05 plate, i don`t have a full service history but am concerned about the cambelt, ive spoken to two garages, one says its a cambelt and the other a timing chain, can anyone verify which it is.

Secondly the fuel gauge doesn`t work which i have heard is common on this model, now does anyone know someone in the Northwest who can repair this reasonably.

And the questions keep coming, do the wheels from an Audi A3 fit on the A6?

The car drives lovely and im really pleased, i have had a couple of TT`s before and the quality of Audi cars has always impressed me, thanks in advance for any replies
Only one I can help on is its a chain

Timncfc
06-11-2014, 08:06 PM
Thanks for your answer, what is the life expectancy of these chains, mine is really quiet, no rattles or noises

Scott K
07-11-2014, 11:55 AM
The fuel gauge fault is sometimes due to the sender in the tank.