PDA

View Full Version : Ticking / clicking noise N/S/R

_tones
10-04-2014, 12:01 PM
My car yesterday evening, randomly while driving, started to make a ticking noise from the N/S/R wheel. It's the same noise a bicycle would make if someone put some cardboard between the spokes and turned the wheel. The frequency of the noise increases with speed. I lifted the car on a jack and had a look and couldn't see anything obvious such a loose thread on a tyre (I'm no mechanic past changing the tyre / topping up liquids on a car). I will take the car into a garage over the weekend if possible but really busy at the moment. The car otherwise seems to drive OK (it does need tracking but otherwise no real issues when driving)

Any ideas as to what this noise could be?

Ta

Sam
10-04-2014, 12:29 PM
Failing wheel bearings make a howling sound which increases with speed.

Or it could simply be a stone stuck in the tyre tread but that wouldn't sound anything like the noise made by a playing card in bicycle spokes.

_tones
10-04-2014, 01:00 PM
Failing wheel bearings make a howling sound which increases with speed.

Or it could simply be a stone stuck in the tyre tread but that wouldn't sound anything like the noise made by a playing card in bicycle spokes.

It's not the sound a wheel bearing makes as I've had that on a previous car and know the howling sound you mean, which increases with speed. I also had the wheel bearings checked previously during service and they were ok.

When i lifted the car up, I rotated the wheel and it moves freely (another sign wheel bearing is gone if it does not move freely). Also checked for stones and Tyre wear and both were good.

The playing card in bicycle spoke is exactly the sound the car makes... :(. There are so many pot holes / poor road surfaces on my way to work, I'm not sure sure if that finally had an affect on the car.

Sam
10-04-2014, 01:51 PM