PDA

View Full Version : What wheels / steering for a 1995 T4

Winchweight
13-09-2007, 06:51 PM
Hi, I want to put alloys on my T4, and I want to change my steering wheel for something that didn't come out of a WW2 truck!

Ebay is full of ads claiming that these wheels will fit a Golf, Bora, Passat and Transporter, but is that true?

What off the shelf (eBay) wheels should I look for?

What of the shelf steering wheel should I look for (no airbag)?

Winchweight
18-09-2007, 05:32 PM
28 views and no replies. Guess I'll try somewhere else.

Sam
18-09-2007, 05:39 PM
I have no experience with the T4 range so rather than comment or make the wrong decision, I didn't reply :(

But!

T4 has a PCD of 112x5 which is the same as the Passat. Offset is similar (40) too.

Either a fat spoked wheel or a plain faced would suit the T4 in my opinion.

Merc wheels are nice (I have a similar design on my Passat)

As for steering wheel, no idea I'm afraid, what do you have already?

Winchweight
18-09-2007, 06:15 PM
Hi Sam, thanks. It has the standard steel wheels and a ropey old standard steering wheel, that's about the size of a Mack truck.The problem with the steering wheel is that the rubber outer has detached from the steel inner and the wheel floats about in your hand!

As for the main wheels, I want to lower the height a bit, reduce the roll and hopefully make it a bit less agricultural.

Sam
18-09-2007, 06:24 PM
Hehe, I like your thinking.

Almost all the big names do lowering kits with, in my opinion, Koni/Eibach being the best. If it were me, I'd get it lowered and see how it suits yours needs before moving on to wheels, braces etc.

I'd also go for a like-for-like swap on the steering wheel.

Winchweight
18-09-2007, 09:43 PM
I'll ask around. Thanks Sam

mulley
26-09-2007, 12:26 PM