PDA

View Full Version : Looking To Buy VagCom Is It Worth It???

cyberduderen
11-09-2007, 09:37 AM
Hi all, I'm thinking of getting Ross-Techs VagCom but was wondering if it is worth the money, I have a 1996 P reg Audi A4 2.6 V6 which only cost me £1200 so $249 for a cable and software seems a little extreme.

What advantages would I have with the genuine registered version over the free version with a cable from ebay or even a CAN Bus VW Audi Trouble Code Reader Scanner U281 and oil reset tool?

I'm thinking this is the correct cable for my car,
KEY- USBDual-K VAG <-> USB Communications Interface

For use with,
Release 704.1
Data Version 20070723

Bearing in mind the age of my car am I right in thinking there's not a great deal I can do with the software or am I wrong?
I would mainly use the software for identifying problems and hopefully repairing the car myself when things go wrong (as they seem to quite frequently)
I'm not very experienced with messing about with cars but would give it a go if it mean't saving money on garage bills.

Thanks in advance ;)

Col
11-09-2007, 11:04 AM
The best way of weighing up the decision to buy or not is to consider that you only need to use it once to solve a problem and it will have virtually paid for itself. The added bonus is that you will still have it to solve the next problem!

In my mind, having it is as essential as having a socket set.

cyberduderen
11-09-2007, 01:01 PM
Will it tell me any more than the freeware version or a fault code reader though?

Crasher
11-09-2007, 02:20 PM
Buy the proper registered version and you will buy the best tool you ever could. The freeware version is not good enough as it is many functions blocked out.

cbrpaul
11-09-2007, 03:54 PM
or find someone on here close to you with vagcom ,

and pay them in beer tokens !!!!

:beerchug:

cyberduderen
19-09-2007, 08:01 AM