PDA

View Full Version : Burning smell after driving



M1tchy
11-01-2014, 09:44 PM
This has happened after about 3 journeys now, after I get home, park up and get I can smell burning, it smells like clutch to me but is there anyway an auto gear box can smell like the clutch can on a manual? I've got the tip tronic auto gearbox with 3500 miles on the clock.

Its in the garage next week so might get them to have a look.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Chris
11-01-2014, 09:46 PM
DPF regen I bet.

They can absolutely stink on some occasions.

M1tchy
11-01-2014, 09:52 PM
Would I get any indication of a regen? On the dash or anything?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

Chris
11-01-2014, 09:54 PM
Not usually. If the level is above 40% you'll get a visual warning but everyday driving you'll not get any alert.

The fan can also stay on after ignition off on some occasions too which again is totally normal.

M1tchy
11-01-2014, 10:08 PM
Ah right, thanks. Yeah I've had the fan on a few times after long journeys, I assumed it's just cooling itself down. Thanks for the timely replies as always


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

Furillo
12-01-2014, 11:13 AM
Share your experience M1tchy. First time with a dpf diesel and happened to me twice now. I was convinced something was wrong until a friend said happens on dpf cars. Guess have to get use to it. Only sign I've noticed is that on mine the BiTDI sounds slightly noisier and what feels like small vibration kicking in. Next day car is fine and you wonder why you were worried until the next time of course:)

M1tchy
12-01-2014, 12:09 PM
Does it almost sound like the car is in sport mode and the speakers on the exhaust are on? That's the sort of thing I get but haven't correlated that, with the burning smell yet. I probably will next time though


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

Furillo
12-01-2014, 02:12 PM
Yep and infact first time I actually checked exhaust sound settings to see if it was set to dynamic. It wasn't.

M1tchy
12-01-2014, 02:17 PM
Brilliant, well I think that's that question answered. Thanks for your replies.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD