PDA

View Full Version : Does Mk7 Golf have a timing belt or chain?

golfmaster
29-08-2013, 12:08 AM
There is a lot of issues with chains breaking in bmw diesels. I am a high mileage driver who likes to keep a car for a good while. Can anyone tell me has the new mk7 golf got a timing belt or chain? I was thinking of buying a mk7 golf. I was thinking of phoning a vw garage to ask but i thought i would try the forum first.

Guest 2
29-08-2013, 07:46 AM
I'm pretty sure most if not all diesels are belts.

Stick to 60k/4 years whichever comes first.

maisbitt
29-08-2013, 08:09 AM
Don't the TDIs now have a belt that is supposed to last the life of the car and not need replacing (with no official recommended timelines for replacement)?

Thought the 2.0TSI engine had a chain - the Scirocco/MK6 Golf GTI 2.0TSI 211PS engine does.

mcmaddy
29-08-2013, 09:59 PM
no belt will last the lifetime no matter what vw say. even if they say it does I still wouldn't trust them!

maisbitt
30-08-2013, 08:46 AM
no belt will last the lifetime no matter what vw say. even if they say it does I still wouldn't trust them!
I don't trust them, but VW seem to have the confidence to remove it's compulsory replacement from their service schedule for 2.0TDIs fitted to MK7 Golfs. As a matter of caution i'd probably want it replaced at 80k miles even if it is supposed to last as long as the rest of the car.

dcdick
30-08-2013, 11:11 AM
I don't trust them, but VW seem to have the confidence to remove it's compulsory replacement from their service schedule for 2.0TDIs fitted to MK7 Golfs. As a matter of caution i'd probably want it replaced at 80k miles even if it is supposed to last as long as the rest of the car.

The last Golf I had with a belt cam drive was a Mk4 1.6 petrol match that initially had only a service inspection for the belt & renewal was at something like 125k..............then all of a sudden the belt had to be changed at 40k for all cars !!